Firefighter of the year

STILLWATER- Mayor Ernest Martin and the Village of Stillwater Board of Trustees recently honored Ted Thrane as the Stillwater Fire Department’s “Firefighter of the Year.”  This year’s prestigious award was given to Thrane for his enthusiasm, dedication, and commitment to the department.  Thrane, who was also recently elected to a captain’s position, has lead several training sessions and has helped maintain the department’s apparatus fleet.  Mayor Martin presented Thrane with a plaque at the department’s annual installation banquet held in May at Panza’s Restaurant on Saratoga Lake. 

In addition to the “Firefighter of the Year” presentation, several other individuals were honored at the dinner.  Firefighter Bryan Nyland was honored for 25 years of service; Firefighter James Spooner for 15 years; Captain Matt Mehan, Former Captain Kevin Mehan, and Lieutenant Tracey Cancilla for 10 years; and Paul O’Kosky, II as Past President.  Ex-Chief Shane Mahar was presented a plaque thanking him for his dedication and leadership from January 2006 through April 2010.   

The department also thanked the commissioners and assistant chief of the Boght Community Fire District for their help in replacing E 59-3 after it was damaged beyond repair at a fire in April 2009.  

Pictured are Mayor Martin, Chief Anthony Conti, Assistant Chief Jeff Mahar, Firefighter of the Year Thrane, and Assistant Chief Jeri Mehan.